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D) A Tribal Senior citizen (aged 55 or older) may designate, in writing,
a CRIT Tribal member to take a deer for them. A designated hunter may
only hunt on behalf of one Senior citizen. A designation is not
transferable and the C.R.LT. Fish and Game must be notified when the
deer tag is issued.

E) Tribal members are required to obtain their Deer Permit and
Declaration of Lawful Taking Forms prior to attempting to take an
animal.

F)  Successful Tribal deer hunters shall immediately fill out the
Declaration of Lawful Taking Form and return it to the C.R.I.T. Fish and
Game office.

Nothing in these regulations shall be construed as
effecting the jurisdiction or power of the Tribes to manage,
control or regulate wildlife under CRIT law. Nothing in
these regulations shall be construed as affecting the
Sovereign Immunity of the Tribes.

e
The foregoing requlation was issued by the Department of
Fish and Game pursuant to Article I, Section 1-205 of the
Natural Resources Code and was duly approved by the
Administrative Committee on the day of, April 18th 2019.

Administrative Committee Department of Fish and Game

Colorado River Indian Tribes Colorado River Indian Tribes

Dennis Patch Josephine Tahbo.

Chairman, Tribal Council Chief Game Warden
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CHAPTER 4, TAKING OF WILDLIFE
Section 1-401. Taking of Wildlife.

Wildlife may be taken only at such times, in such places, in such
manner and with such weapons, equipment and devices, as is
allowed by this Article and any regulations issued hereunder.

Section 1-402 Time of Taking.

Wildlife, except fish and bullfrogs , shall be taken only between
sunrise and sunset of the same day

Section 1-403. Method of Taking.

(A) Fish may be taken only by angling, except as otherwise
authorized by the Department, and except further that members of
the Tribes may utilize traditional methods of taking fish. Fishing
lines shall constantly be attended. Hooks, flies and lures shall be
used in such a manner that the fish takes or attempts to take it in his
mouth.

(B) Birds may be taken only with shotguns, using shot shells.

(C) Rabbits may be taken only with bow and arrow, rifles that fire
-22 rimfire shells, and shotguns no larger than 12 gauge, using shot
shells.

(D) Bullfrogs may be taken only by angling, spear, gig, bow and
arrow, dip net or by hand,

(E) Reptiles may be taken only by hand, spear, gig, bow and arrow,
net or trap.

(F) Amphibians (except bullfrogs), water dogs, soft-shelled turtles,
mollusks, and crustaceans may be taken only by angling, by hand,
with any hand-held, non-motorized implement which does not
discharge a projectile, or with a minnow trap approved by the
Department.



Mammal Seasons, Taking, Possession:
Hunted Mammals:

Coyote:
Season: 01-01-19 to 12-31-19. Full day hunt.
Take/Possession Limit: Unlimited.

Rabbits:

Cottontail;

Season: 01-01-19 to 12-31-19. Full day hunt.

Take/Possession Limit: 15/day and have 2 day take (30) in possession
after 1* day of season.

Jack Rabbit:

Season: 01-01-19 to 12-31-19. Full day hunt.

Take/Possession Limit: 10/day and have 2 day take (20) in possession
after 1* day of season.

Javelina:
Notice: Javelina hunting is open to Tribal Members only. Javelina
may be hunted by archery or rifle.

SEASON: 11-02-19 to 11-24-19
Take/Possession Limit: One (1) total for entire season per permit.

Elk:

Elk (either sex) is a closed season. Harassment of Elk or other game
species is an offense of the Natural Resource Code .

Section 1-405 Firearm Safety Course.

No person under eighteen (18) years of age shall hunt wildlife
within the Reservation without possessing evidence of having
satisfactorily completed a firearms safety course approved by
the Department.

Section 1-406 Transportation of birds.

The carcasses of birds possessed or being transported shall have one
(1) full feathered wing attached so that species and number can be
determined. This Section shall not apply after the possessor or
transporter has reached his permanent abode.

Section 1-407 Duty to Report Shooting Accidents.

Any person who, while hunting, witnesses or is involved in a
shooting incident resulting in injury to another person shall
immediately report such incident to a Game Warden or to the Tribal
Police Department. Such person shall assist such officer or game
warden as requested. Thereafter, such person shall immediately file
a full and complete report of the incident with the Department and
the Tribal Police Department. Such report shall include the name,
address and license or permit number of the person making the
report, and of others involved in the incident, if known.

CHAPTER 5. UNLAWFUL ACTS; PENALTIES; SEIZURE

Section 1-501 Unlawful Acts.
Note: The more common violations we see are listed in bold italics

It is unlawful for any person to:

(1) Take, possess, transport or offer for sale wildlife, except as
permitted by this Article and implementing regulations.

(2) Destroy, injure or molest livestock, growing crops, personal
property, notices or signs or other property while hunting, trapping
or fishing.

3) Discharge a firearm within one-fourth (1/4) mile of a house,
other residence or building without the written permission of the
owner or resident of said structure.



Migratory Game Bird Hunting Continued:

Nothing in these regulations shall be construed as
effecting the jurisdiction or power of the Tribes to manage,
control or regulate wildlife under CRIT law. Nothing in
these regulations shall be construed as affecting the
Sovereign Immunity of the Tribes.

The foregoing regulation was issued by the
Department of Fish and Game pursuant to
Article I, Section 1-205 of the Natural Resources
Code and was duly approved by the
Administrative Committee on the day of, _July
18, 2019.

Administrative Committee
Colorado River Indian Tribes

Department of Fish and Game
Colorade River Indian Trihes

Dennis Patch Josephine Tahbo
Chairman, Tribal Council Chief Game Warden
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Ethical Hunting is Everyone's Business

“Ethics is not only about what you should not do, but what you
should do. Offer to lend a hand to another hunter if they are
retrieving downed game, share information on hunting conditions
and engage in helpful conversation with beginners you happen to
meet.”

Hunting is a heritage we all share and together we can continue to
share it for generations to come.”

Brian Wakeling, Game Branch Chief
Arizona Game and Fish Department

What are Ethics?

Ethics generally relate to fairness, respect and responsibility. Aldo
Leopold once said ethical behavior is doing the right thing when no
one else is watching even when doing the wrong thing is legal. They
are the personal unwritten rules that we value. When we talk about
an ethical hunter their behaviors an example of the sportsmanship
they demonstrate in the field.

Ethics with Non-hunters

Show respect for other users of the land and their property. They
possess the same rights as you do to use the lands; Be courteous to
non-hunters when transporting your game from the field. Transport
animals discretely; Don’t leave remains of field dressing in places
where it is easily visible. Respect other people that may be walking
by; clean up to the best of your ability before entering into a public
place when returning from a hunt if you cannot change cloths.
Present a professional image; Take tasteful photographs of your
hunt; Invite someone new to come hunting with you.

“Ethics” is reprinted with permission from:
Arizona Game and Fish Department

2012 - 13 Arizona Hunting and Trapping Regulations
www.azgfd.gov



SHELLS ARE LITTER, PICK THEM UP,

All hunters are responsible for cleaning up after themselves. Shell
casings (shotshell hulls) and associated debris constitute litter and
must be picked up and packed out. Littering while hunting or
fishing are violations which may result in criminal and/or fines. It
only takes a few minutes at the end of the hunt to pick up which
keeps the area clean for other users, protects wildlife and will help
preserve Colorado River Indian Tribe’s hunting tradition for future
generations.

Section 1-501. Unlawful Acts; It is unlawful for any person to:
(7) Litter a hunting or fishing area.

NOTICE

To prevent hunting excess of prescribed limits, it is prohibited for
hunters to “group” their takings into a community chest or bag
without properly tagging each killed bird. Please refer to the below
tagging requirements. Hunting or taking of wildlife in excess of
the prescribed limit may result in the imposition of criminal and/or
civil fines and/or civil damages, including, but limited to $25.00
per excess migratory game bird/waterfowl, and/or revocation of
hunting permit. The Colorado River Indian Tribes Fish & Game
Department is advising each hunter to maintain his or her own bag.

Tagging Requirements: Each killed bird must be tagged with a
waterproof material (permanent marker) if placed in a container. Tt
is permissible to use adhesive labels for the exterior or wired tags
if the bag is not placed in water. Each bird must be tagged with the
following information: the hunter’s name and address; hunting
permit number; hunter’s Driver’s License; number and species of
birds; and the date taken.

Remember to leave a full feathered wing attached! Violators will
be issued violation notices.

Migratory Game Bird Hunting Seasons, Taking ,
Possession:

The dates, bag and possession limits for the
upcoming season are as follows:

General Dove:

First Season: September 1 to September 15th, 2019
Any Mourning or White-Winged Dove

Shooting hours: One-half hour before sunrise until sunset.
Mourning Dove Bag and Possession Limit:

Bag Limit: Fifteen (15) per day, but the white-winged dove
bag limit is ten (10) per day. In the early season, the bag limit
is fifteen (15) dove per day in the aggregate, of which only ten
(10) can be white-wings.

Possession Limit: Ts forty-five (45) mourning and
white-winged dove in the aggregate after the opening day of
which no more than fifteen (15) may be taken in any one day.
Of the forty (45) dove possession limit, only thirty (30) may be
white-winged doves of which no more ten (10) may be taken
in any one day.

Second Season: November 22, 2019 to January 5, 2020.
Mourning Dove Only.

Shooting Hours: One half hour before sunrise until sunset

Bag Limit: Fifteen (15) Mourning Dove per day.

Possession Limit:  Forty-five (45) mourning dove after
opening day, of which no more than fifteen (15) may be taken
in any one day.



Section 1-501 Unlawful Acts: Penalties; Seizure Continued

(4) Take wildlife and willfully permit the edible portions thereof to spoil
or otherwise go to waste.

(5) Take game other than birds with the aid of dogs.

(6) Obtain or attempt to obtain a license or permit after a license or
permit for the same purpose and for the period has been revoked.

(7) Litter a hunting or fishing area.

(8) Possess while hunting, any device designed to silence, muffle or
minimize the report of a firearm.

(9) Obtain by fraud or misrepresentation of a license or permit.

(10) Discharge a firearm or other device from a vehicle including, but
not limited to an automobile, aircraft, train or boat, except as expressly
authorized in writing by the Department, or discharge a firearm or other
device from, upon across or onto a roadway or any other right-of-way
maintained for public use.

(11) Take wildlife or handle or discharge any firearm with wanton
disregard for the safety of human life or property in a careless or
reckless manner or while intoxicated.

(12) Hunt or take any wildlife other than during the prescribed season
or in excess of the prescribed bag limit.

(13) Hunt, trap or fish for wildlife or attempt to do so without a valid
license or permit.

(14) Fail or refuse to exhibit a license or permit on demand of any game
warden or other representative of the Department, or of any law
enforcement official of the Tribes or any other duly authorized official
of the Tribes or the United States.

(15) Fail to report a shooting incident as required by Section 1-407.

(16) Violate any other provision of this Article.
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Resident Game Bird Seasons, Taking, Possession:

Upland Game Birds:

Gambel’s Quail:

Season: 10-19-19 to 02-23-20. Full day hunt.

Take/Possession limit: 10/day and have 2 day take (20) in possession
after first day of season.

Rock Doves: 01-01-19 to 12-31-19. Full day hunt.
Unlimited take and possession.

Eurasian Collard Doves: 01-01-19 to 12-31-19.
Full day hunt. Unlimited take and possession.

Ringed Turtle-Doves: 01-01-19 to 12-31-19.
Full day hunt. Unlimited take and possession.

Protected Non Game Species:

Note: these species are protected by Federal and Tribal law and may
not be harassed in any way. (Includes any owl, hawk, falcon, vulture,
osprey, eagle and/or rail species)

Season: none.

Take/Possession Limit: no take or possession allowed.

Non-game Nuisance Birds:

Note: Non-Game Nuisance Birds requires a Special scare permit
available at the Fish and Game Department office only.

Includes: House Sparrows, Starlings, Blackbirds, Brown-headed
Cowbirds and Crows. A scare permit only grants the permitted fo
scare the above listed birds, it does not permit the taking of the
birds. The listed birds may be protected by the Migratory Bird
Treaty Act.

Trapping: For depredation only. Must apply at the Fish and Game
Office for special trapping permit. Trapping permits are issued
solely at the discretion of the Fish and Game Department.



CHAPTER 4, Section 1-404, Firearms; Prohibitions.
The following weapons, ammunition, devices and materials may not be
used for the taking of wildlife, nor may they be possessed in the field

while hunting: Italic sections are most common violations.

(1) Fully automatic firearms, including firearms capable of selective
automatic fire.

(2) Tracer and armor piercing ammunition, full Jacketed bullets other
than those designed for hunting.

(3) Semiautomatic, bolt action and lever action rifles with a
magazine capacity of more than five (5) center fire cartridges.

(4) Shotguns with a capacity of more than three (3) shells and
shotguns exceeding ten (10) gauge.

(5) Poisoned arrows or arrows with explosive tips.
(6) Cross bows.
(7) Pitfalls, explosives, poisons or stupefying substances.

(8) Jack light or any other type of artificial light except when used for
the taking of bullfrogs.

(9) Weapons banned by federal law.

(10) All muzzle loading rifles of a caliber exceeding .58 and all center
fire rifles of a caliber exceeding .30.

(11) Hand guns may be used for the hunting of wildlife only upon
obtaining prior written permission of the Tribal Council. In no event
shall a hand gun used for the hunting of wildlife have a barrel shorter
than four (4) inches in length.

As Amended February 11, 1984, Ord. No. 84-3, Section 4

Mammal Seasons, Taking, Possession: Continued

Deer:

Notice: Deer hunting is open to Tribal Members
only. The bag limit is one per family per year. If a
deer is taken in any one of the hunts the bag is
fulfilled. Family members must decide who is
going to harvest their deer.

Rifle Deer Seasons;

First season: 10-12-19 to 11-03-19. Full day hunt.
Bag limit: 1 per family (see notice)

Archery Deer Season: 11-09-19 to 12-01-19. Full day hunt.
Bag limit: 1 per family (see notice)

Second Rifle Deer season: 12-14-19 to 01-12-20. Full day
hunt.
Bag limit: 1 per family (see notice)

Special considerations and definitions for deer.

A) Bucks (male spike or better) Mule Deer or White-tailed Deer or
their subspecies may be taken.

B) No person except an enrolled Tribal member of the Colorado
River Indian Tribes may hunt deer on the Colorado River Indian
Reservation.

C)  Family means for the purpose of these regulations is defined as
a husband and wife or an unmarried man and woman that are living
together and includes their dependent unmarried children under the
age of 18 years of age. A married child and his or her spouse and
children constitute a separate family.

Mammal Seasons, Taking, Possession: Deer (Continued)



General Provisions:

Prohibited species:
It is prohibited to pursue,hunt, take, possess, kill, or transport species not
provided for in these regulations

Transportation Forms: The transporting individuals may complete a
Declaration of Lawful Taking Form. Copies of declarations are accepted
via fax, mail and by hand delivery. Game check stations are voluntary
stops for hunters. Your cooperation provides valuable information for
monitoring the hunt.

Licensing: A valid Colorado River Indian Reservation hunting permit is
required for any game species. Federal regulations apply in all cases for
migratory birds. Shot restrictions apply for waterfowl, limiting hunters
to non-lead, federally approved shot such as steel, bismuth alloys and
tungsten alloys. Use of bird dogs is allowed so long as dogs perform in
such a way as to not interfere with other hunters or reservation livestock,

Retrieval and Tagging:

All downed birds shall be retrieved and retained in the custody of the
hunter while in the field. Crippled birds must be killed immediately. Any
bird given or left with another person MUST be tagged showing the
hunter’s name and address: hunting permit number; hunter’s driver’s
license number; number and species of birds; and the date taken.

Watercraft Restrictions:

No person shall use a motorized watercraft for taking provided for under
these regulations unless the craft is used for retrieving birds. At all
times, all propulsion motors/engines must be out of the water and sails
must be furled. Weapons must be unloaded while motorized craft are
under power.

Jurisdiction of the Colorado River Indian Tribes: Any person
hunting, fishing, or trapping wildlife on the Colorado River Indian
Reservation consents to the laws of the Colorado River Indian
Tribes. Any person hunting, fishing, or trapping wildlife on the
Colorado River Indian Reservation further consents and submits to
the jurisdiction of the Tribal Court of the Colorado River Indian
Tribes.

Hunting Permit Cost Schedule

Permits can be purchased through the mail. Money Orders or
Cashiers Checks only and will require all information from
your Driver’s License

Juveniles fourteen (14) years old and older are required to
purchase a Hunting or Fishing Permit. All juveniles are
required to show proof that they have passed the Hunter
Safety Course by presenting their Certificate upon
purchase of permit.

Combination Hunt & Fish $100.00

Season Hunt $ 75.00
Season Fish $ 35.00
One Day Fish $ 5.00
Duplicates $ 5.00

(Available at CRIT Fish & Game Office only.)

Camping Information

Camping Fees: $15.00 per day per family or up to
three (3) adult individuals in one vehicle, tent or RV,

Family constitutes a man and wife and their
unmarried children under the age of eighteen (18).
Friends or relatives (not immediate family) camping
together in one vehicle, tent or RV one permit is required
for up to three (3) individuals, the fourth person is required
to have a second permit.

Camping permits will require: all information from

your Driver’s License; Vehicle Lic. Plate number, Number
of people and Number of days you will be camping.

Revised 7/19
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