News for Friday, March 22, 2019 | More News


With Water Leasing Vote, Colorado River Indian Tribes Will Seek Consequential Legal Change

For Immediate Release

Colorado River Indian Tribes Approve Water Ordinance

(PARKER, AZ.) Voters of the Colorado River Indian Tribes (CRIT) approved Protect and Prosper: the CRIT Water Ordinance today by an overwhelmingly favorable percentage of 63% according to unofficial, preliminary results.

The Tribal Council unanimously referred the Water Ordinance to the voters on November 8th, 2018 and held numerous forums, information sessions, and tours of the reservation to inform the membership about water issues and to encourage passage of the referendum.

The CRIT Water Ordinance does not affect or change the CRIT commitment to leave 50,000 acre-feet of its allocation per year for three years, beginning in 2020, for use in Arizona in Lake Mead to prop up the Lake elevation as part of the Intra-Arizona drought contingency plan. CRIT started making water available for Lake Mead in 2016 under the Reclamation Pilot System Conservation Program and is continuing to do so today with the full support of the membership. The total amount of CRIT water to be left in Lake Mead is increasing the elevation by over two feet.

The passage of the Referendum gives the Tribal Council a clear mandate to seek federal legislation to authorize CRIT to lease part of its Arizona allocation of water for off-reservation use. CRIT looks forward to having similar flexibility for how their water is used that is available to other Tribes in Arizona and throughout the western United States.

CRIT Chairman Dennis Patch said, “Our water and our land is our Tribes’ most important natural resources and deserve special care. This referendum was a successful effort of our people to understand the value and importance of our natural resources. Our members have shown they understand that it is time to make our water work for all of us. With this responsibility in mind, our Council will continue to work on ways to protect and maximize full economic benefits for our people.”

Vice Chairman Keith Moses said, “This is only the first step, but it is an important one. The results of the referendum permit Council to begin to take those steps necessary to fully develop our water entitlement so that others cannot come and take it from us in the future.”

In 2018 there was an unsuccessful attempt to recall all 9 Council Members over water issues. The Protect and Prosper Referendum represents the fulfillment of campaign promises made by the Council that the membership would be provided the opportunity to learn more about the CRIT water rights and the Colorado River and would be given a chance to express their opinions and to vote on major water initiatives.

The CRIT tribal council looks forward to working with officials in the State of Arizona and the Arizona congressional delegation in the coming months on federal legislation that will overcome the historic barriers to CRIT being able to use its full water entitlement.

CRIT has the first priority decreed water right to divert 719,248 acre-feet per year to serve lands in both Arizona and California. However, system inefficiencies in the BIA Colorado River Irrigation Project and a lack of infrastructure for agriculture development prevent the Tribes from fully utilizing its water. The Council is optimistic that funding received from water leasing can be used to build and improve water infrastructure and improve the economic opportunities on the reservation.

About the Colorado River Indian Tribes:
The Colorado River Indian Tribes include four distinct Tribes - the Mohave, Chemehuevi, Hopi, and Navajo. There are currently about 4,434 Tribal members. The CRIT Reservation was created in 1865 by the Federal Government for “Indians of the Colorado River and its tributaries,” originally for the Mohave and Chemehuevi, who had inhabited the area for centuries. People of the Hopi and Navajo Tribes were relocated to the reservation in later years. The reservation stretches along the Colorado River on both the Arizona and California side. It includes approximately 300,000 acres of land, with the river serving as the focal point and lifeblood of the area.

News: CRIT Voters Approve Measure That Could Create Economic Opportunities For Its Community And Drought Relief For Arizona



Community Events:


March 2019 Administrative Calendar


Notice to Update Addresses to All CRIT Tribal Members
CRIT Tribal members please contact the CRIT Enrollment office to update your mailing addresses as soon as possible. If you have any questions you may direct them to their staff at (928) 669-1240, 1241 or 1304. 


The CRIT Multi-Hazard Mitigation DRAFT Plan Flyer to the Public

CRIT Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plan Update December 2018

Region IX Tribal Hazard Mitigation Plan Review Tool




Home Manataba Messenger Business Opportunities Tourism Information Bluewater Casino About Us Tribal Government Information Tribal Departments Tribal Ordinances Public Notices Employees Contact Us